Sunday, May 17, 2009

from the "I Will if You Will" Dept.

Boston Review
Twelfth Annual Poetry Contest

Deadline: June 1, 2009
Judge: Rae Armantrout
First Prize: $1,500

Complete guidelines:
The winning poet will receive $1,500 and have his or her work published in the November/December 2009 issue of Boston Review. Submit up to five unpublished poems, no more than 10 pages total. Any poet writing in English is eligible, unless he or she is a current student, former student, or close personal friend of the judge. Manuscripts must be submitted in duplicate, with a cover note listing the author's name, address, and phone number; names should not be on the poems themselves. Simultaneous submissions are not permitted. Submissions will not be returned. A $20 entry fee ($30 for international submissions), payable to Boston Review, must accompany all submissions. Submissions must be postmarked no later than June 1, 2009. All entrants will receive a one-year subscription to Boston Review, beginning with the November/December 2009 issue. The winner will be announced no later than November 1, 2009, on the Boston Review Web site. All poems submitted to the contest will be considered for publication in the Boston Review. Send entries to:

Poetry Contest, Boston Review,
35 Medford St., Suite 302,
Somerville, MA 02143

Read winning poems from past years:
Sarah Arvio (2008)
Elizabeth Willis (2007)
Marc Gaba (2006)
Mike Perrow (2005)
Michael Tod Edgerton [PDF] (2004)
Susan Wheeler (2003)
Max Winter (2002)
D.A. Powell (2001)
Christopher Edgar (2000)
Stephanie Strickland (1999)
Daniel Bosch (1998)

For more poetry in Boston Review, click here.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home